I’m No Artist, But…

Okay, so I maybe putting the cart before the horse, but I believe in getting a head start when I can. I’m only about half finished with my second book (first draft!) and I’ve been considering cover art. Why? Because you only get about 8 seconds to entice a prospective reader to take the time to read the blurb about what’s inside the cover.

Well, as this post’s title indicates, I’m not an artist. (I can draw a mean stick figure, but that’s about as far as it gets. :D) I did design the cover for my first book using a photo from the drive-thru window of the Northwest Missouri Regional Credit Union where I work and Photoshop to create a rainbow. I also designed the text for the cover. However, being as it was a Bible study I felt the artwork was appropriate in its simplicity. With this second book being a fantasy, though, I thought maybe I should see if I could hire a real artist to design the cover.

I went to Lulu.com first because they “supposedly” have professionals who do cover designs. Here’s my problem: each Lulu sponsored designer stated that they would design my cover for a fee, but I would have to submit all the images I wanted to be incorporated in the cover. Huh? I have to give you the images? Isn’t that your job? That’s the whole reason I’m looking for a designer. I can’t draw to save my life (and forget asking my artist brother because cover art “ain’t his thing” :P) and I want a really great professional cover.

I’m still looking for a good artist with reasonable fees, but in the meantime I’m trying to find ways to use my Photoshop and the skills I learned at Rush Printing as a desktop publisher to create a cover I can be proud of. I guess you could say I’m looking for the shallows in want of a bridge on The Road to Writing.

5 thoughts on “I’m No Artist, But…

  1. Did you does your local University have a Graphic Design Program? You might check with them or at the very least the Fine Arts Department.

    • That’s a really good idea. I’ll have to look into it. I’m sure I’ll have to “negotiate” with the red-tape people first as just anybody can’t post a request at the university, but it’s worth it.

    • Toby only wants to please his overbearing mother by becoming a Master Cat, one of a few cats paired with a human to work magic, but his human partner, Lorn, makes it almost impossible as he overreaches his abilities trying to live down his traitorous uncle’s reputation… a reputation Lorn believes was undeserved. In an attempt to clear his uncle’s name, Lorn and Toby work to untangle the web of lies and half-truths another has woven to gain control of the kingdom.

      I plan on putting something like that on the back cover. If you’re interested in what’s going on with Apprentice Cat, you can click on the Apprentice Cat tag to bring up all the posts related to it. You can also go to the short story to get a better idea of what the book will be like. I’m still hoping for its release in late spring.

      Thanks for your interest. Keep checking back for more updates.

Leave a Reply

