Hooray For Writing!!

For those of you out there who love to write, but suffer from migraines that get in the way, I have a possible solution (provided the headache was stress related to begin with). I’ve just come off a two and 1/2 day headache and discovered that my love of writing (and drinking several Cokes) can ease the pain tremendously!

I’ve been stressing over meeting the deadline I set to finish my book, Apprentice Cat. Needless to say, after spending a busy weekend with family and getting only my regular blog posting done, I’ve felt the pressure. Well, today I managed to spend a lot of time working and — voila! — the headache is almost completely gone!

As April Hamilton in her Publetariat post Writing Can Save Your Life; Let It wrote, “If you’re a writer, count yourself lucky. You have a crisis survival utility belt that rivals anything the caped crusader’s got.” Amen!

Pouring ourselves into our work is just one more way to be a healthier person on The Road to Writing.

6 thoughts on “Hooray For Writing!!

  1. Hi! I couldn’t agree more! And if we’re stuck without power, all we need is a pen and a notebook. We are, indeed, very lucky people, we writers. (Poor, but lucky.)

    • Actually, I do have an answer. Write anyway. As I mentioned in my post Writing in the Face of Fear Brenda Ueland has already told us what to do about thinking we can’t write anything. “She says it doesn’t matter. She dares each of us to try to write the worst story we can because she believes even in the worst we can find great stuff.”
      So go ahead and write, even if it’s just in a journal only you’ll see. Who knows? You may find a book in there somewhere. 🙂

Leave a Reply

